Feast Your Eyes on Mow Skwoz

Mow Skwoz is a 26-year-old artist who’s focus lies on the ‘vulnerability of human emotion’. Her photo realistic images are shaped through the masterful use of acrylics on canvas…

The usual artist bio spiel.

I really cant help but feel as though information such as this doesn’t adequately prepare you for what you get when you squiz a Skwoz.

'The Loom'

See what I mean?

Mow Skwoz is set to have her second ever, real life exhibition “Puffy Happy Lies” kick off this Friday, the 22nd of March at the Feast Your Eyes Gallery in Fremantle.

Just like the brief little bio I read, the title of the exhibition may be a tad misleading in regards to the pieces on display.

“I’m so shit at describing my work, I guess the title was meant to imply that they look like funny hairy guys in animal suits doing strange things” says Gina Afentopoulos (that mouthful is the real name behind, Mow Skwoz).

Afentopoulos’s burning desire for art developed as a wee tacker with the combined influential powers of her dad’s regular, creepy pen drawings and a love of Ren and Stimpy.

“That really got me into loving the more gross kind of thing”

However, it wasn’t until late 2010 when her creative train finally pulled into illustration station. Then, in 2012 a friend gave Afentopoulos the subtle suggestion of trying to get an exhibition up on the walls of Bivouac. And  that’s when she became a real life artist.

While the reaction from a Mow Skwoz audience is either laughter or genuinely creeped out, Gina maintains humor isn’t something that is actively sought out when working on a piece.

“I guess its bound to be (a bit weird) because they are mostly weird dudes in cutesy animal suits! I guess I try and make them a little bit creepy or try and get the facial expression to suggest that they are experiencing a trauma or pain, or some kind of overwhelming emotion.”

If that isn’t mildly sadist enough,

“I basically say something like, ‘look like your whole family is in a house burning down and you’re outside in a field, helpless, watching it crumble to the ground’… Awful I know”

Mow Skwoz

Whatever’s your jam, man, it’s certainly working.

Gina is in cahoots with well-accredited artists around the globe.

“The girl in the squirrel costume (in the exhibition) is an awesome artist from Belgium, Eightpussy’s Sweet Stuff. We decided to do a portrait of each other, so she took some pictures in some poses, sent them through and I painted in the squirrel suit on her”

Impressive.

But good impression continues with Tom Hazelmyer, who is not only the man behind Amphetamine Reptile Records but also a bloody tiggity boo lino print artist.

“He jumped into his daughters gloomy bear suit (well half in it) sent me some photos and I sort of super imposed the rest”

Not that I have been completely creeping around the internet but here’s a little bit of something Hazelmyer had to say about a particular piece of Mow Skwoz. This is nabbed straight off Facebook.

“One of my favorite artists (Mow Skwoz) got me in some bear pajamas for her upcoming show. Now I just need a Kickstarter project so I can get down to Australia, wear the same suit at her art opening, and maul people”

I’m not sure if he will actually be at the show, mauling people. So, even though I cant guarantee the safety of anyone, I still recommend that everyone who can, gets their sweet little booties down to the Feast Your Eyes gallery.

For your extra viewing pleasure and additional information about Tom Hazelmyer, watch this.

Leave a comment