Super Chia

Lorine Chia cover

Chia Seeds: A ‘super food’ also referred to as the ‘Aztec superseed’. Hippies and heathies love it as it kicks all your nutritional needs in the ass. We’re talking Vitimins A, B12 and C, Amino Acids, minerals including potassium, phosphorus, folate, zinc, iron and calcium. If these flavorless grains don’t get stuck in your teeth and you actually get to digest the bastards, they’ll also help you poop.

Lorine Chia: Not a super food but a bloody decent singer.  She won’t get stuck in your teeth but also won’t help you poop.

Chia was good enough to have a chat and answer a few questions via email, what a champion.

In addition to Chia’s bodacious belting voice box, this self employed hair dresser originally from Cameroon has been causing quite an industry stir due to her age as the talented lass has only just turned 20.

“People don’t usually believe me when I tell them I’m 20, then they go one to say things like, Oh, she’s so young, she can wait, its highly annoying” says Chia.

As her dad has been a musician since he was a lad, music is in the woman’s waters, although she waited until her teen years to get herself involved.

“I picked up a guitar when I was about 15 or 16 and just started writing songs after that”

pic

The Internet has caused a whole bunch of people in the music industry to get their knickers in a knot, and rightly so with all this illegal downloading going on. Chia, however, has made the world wide web her bitch. While her career is currently fueled by love, which we all know wont pay the rent, Chia is still becoming a bit of a name on popular blogs and is racking up the views on Youtube. So, even though there is a lack of dough for show, without the Internet,

“ You probably wouldn’t even know who I am right now”

And the online universe has thrown some back in the right direction with Chia being approached by Chance the Rapper for a sneaky collaboration, featured on her self-titled debut album.

“It was actually kind of random. He heard my music and wanted to meet up when I was in Chicago. Being a fan, I was extremely excited. We played a few songs and he really liked ‘Living in Vain’. He rapped over it and I was absolutely amazed. He killed it”


Next on the list for Lorine Chia? While I tried to tempt her with the ever-alluring Perth, there are a few things on the agenda before hand.

“That would be lovely but I am releasing my latest project with some new songs and I have a few new videos coming too”

Mugs

One thought on “Super Chia

Leave a comment